The Darien Historical Society, founded in 1953, is the prime resource in the town of Darien, Connecticut dedicated to collecting, preserving and exhibiting materials of local historical value and focuses on educating the community about Darien’s heritage.

The Society supports, maintains, and operates the eighteenth century Bates-Scofield House Museum, the 1827 Scofield Barn Exhibit Hall, and the Darien Historical Archives and Resource Library.

The Darien Historical Society, a 501(c) (3) organization, serves as the local history resource of Darien, through its acquisition and preservation of original photographs, documents, books and artifacts, and provides community access to these primary resources through exhibitions, lectures and educational programs, as well as through its public library.

The Darien Historical Society receives no funding from the Town of Darien. We rely entirely on private funding received from membership dues and contributions as well as from our program revenue and merchandise sales.

Board of Directors

The Darien Historical Society is governed by a Board of Directors of area community members. Individual Board members serve a three year term, renewable for one additional consecutive term.

Current members of the Board include:
Jon Zagrodzky, President
Kate Larson, Vice President
Mollie Fullington, Vice President
Bruce D. Sargent, Treasurer
Julie Johnston, Secretary

Kieran Cavanna
Elissa Hylton
Katherine Karlik
Nancy S. Lione

Rudy Mossa
Michael Nedder
Angelika Oxford
Robert J. Pascal, Jr.
David Polett
Ruth Ann Ramsey
John A. Stineman
Robert E. Woods, Jr.

Marian Castell
Town Historian

In addition, an Advisory Board, also of area community volunteers, serves to assist the Board of Directors in advisory and consulting roles.

 The current Advisory Board members are:
Charky Armstrong
Nancy Cudd
Robert Harrel
Carole Johnson
J. Paul Johnson
W. C. Brian Peoples
Cynthia Ryan
Janet Sargent
Lynne Sheppard
Benedict N. Smith
Cyndy Stamm
Meegan Thilmany